One Sword~

One Thousand Secrets~

Sand Dancer ~ a Young Adult Fantasy novel

When her father’s murder reveals a lifetime of lies, a half-starved peasant girl must disguise herself as a young nobleman if she hopes to make her way into the heart of her enemies. But what is she truly after—the truth or revenge?

SAND DANCER ~ A tale of fire magic, sword dancing, secrets, and revenge! Published by Uproar Books July 2019. The sequel, FIRE WALKER will launch February 2021.

Only monsters summon fire by magic.

It’s a sin against the sun god and a crime against the king.

The punishment is death.

When sixteen-year-old Mina discovers fire magic runs in her family’s blood, it’s just the beginning of the secrets her father has been keeping from her.

And when her father is murdered, this half-starved peasant girl finds herself on the run—pursued across the desert by the soldiers and guards of the noble Houses. To survive, she knows she’ll have to abandon her past and learn the way of the sword. But only boys are allowed to carry a blade. There’s only one solution…

Disguised as a young nobleman, Mina must make a new life for herself in the heart of her enemies. But she knows she can’t keep up the masquerade forever. With time running out, which will she choose to find—the truth or revenge?

About the Author

Hi, I’m Trudie Skies but you can call me Tru! I’ve been reading Young Adult fantasy since I first stole Tamora Pierce’s adventures from my school library, but now I write YA fantasy too! I’m passionate about stories where girls and women go on fantasy adventures to brave new worlds. On my website, you’ll find more info about my own fantasy titles as well as the fantasy books and video games that I love.

Got any fantasy book recommendations or want to talk about cool fantasy video games? Get in touch!

Want a FREE eBook?

Sign up to my newsletter to receive an exclusive short story collection based on the world and characters of Sand Dancer!

These seven stories are written from the perspective of Mina’s friends – and enemies!

Get your copy by subscribing to the newsletter!

Your eBook will be sent directly to your email inbox in ePub, Mobi, and PDF formats. Find out more about my quarterly newsletter!



What people are saying about Sand Dancer:

Loved this book, it was well written, the characters were vibrant and alive, and the world building is amazing.
I loved this story. Mina is a girl who sees her father killed before her by a boy that she vows to find and kill. Along the way she discovers many things about herself and her family. Loved the world and sand dancing. Hope there is another book soon.
NetGalley Reviewer
The book gets better the more you read it and I love the subplots that combined all together in the end. Overall, one of the best reads so far for me this year.
Erika Sarutobi
NetGalley Reviewer

Then please leave your honest review!
Book reviews help authors write more books. View more reviews on Goodreads!​

Latest News & Blog Entries

Reading Time: 7 minutes - Happy National Novel Writing Month day! It’s the first of November and the bells of fate are ringing for writers...
Read More
Reading Time: 3 minutes - It’s Halloween! You know what this means? It’s time to get spooky and remember that National Novel Writing Month also...
Read More
Reading Time: 5 minutes - November is creeping up (Along with Halloween!) and the nights are getting longer, the days colder, so now is the...
Read More